Back to Canvas Tutorials

If a course is set to a past term the +People button will be greyed out. To make it active, you change the dates of the course so it’s no longer concluded. There are two options for this: setting the course to Default Term, or switching from Term to Course dates with and End Date in the future.

  1. Open the course and select Settings in the course navigation menu. This puts you in the Course Details tab.
  2. Option A: scroll down to the Term menu. This is where you can select Default Term. Doing so will change the position of the course in your All Courses list, which is chronological.
  3. Option B: in the Participation menu, select Course in stead of Term. In the date fields below, set both a Start and End date, with the end date in the future. Added users will only have access to the course up to this date. Note: leaving the end date blank does not make the course-open ended, it will default to the previous end date of the the course term.
  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and Save.
Term menu with Default Term selected.
Participation menu with Course selected and new dates entered.

This article was last updated on Aug 3, 2022 @ 10:52 am.