Media Space Permissions Overview

Media Permission Levels

  • Private: Private media is viewable in your account only. No other account can see a private video.
  • Unlisted: An unlisted video is viewable by anyone with the direct link. This is the recommended setting for sharing videos with your students.
  • Published: If you have a situation where you need to set very specific access to a video, you can create a channel, and publish a video to that channel. If, for example, you want to share a video with a select group of students, but don’t want any one else to see it, you can use a channel.

Channel Membership Roles

  • Channel Owner: The channel owner is the person who created the channel. Only the owner can delete the channel.
  • Channel Manager: A channel manager can view channel content, add media to the channel, moderate channel content, and manage users.
  • Channel Moderator: A channel moderator can view channel content, add media to the channel, and moderate channel content.
  • Channel Contributor: A channel contributor can view channel content and add media to the channel.
  • Channel Member: A member can view the channel content.

Channel Types

  • Private Channel: media in a Private channel can only be viewed or modified by by channel members.
  • Restricted Channel: media in a Restricted channel is viewable by any PSU user. The channel can be accessed via URL or by searching in Media Space. Only users who are invited to join a Restricted channel can add to or edit its media.

This article was last updated on Dec 4, 2020 @ 1:58 pm.