Set Up Collaborate Rooms for Student Groups

Note: Instructors must set up the spaces in advance of when students will need them. Students cannot create Collaborate Rooms on their own. Collaborate Rooms do not copy term to term and need to be recreated each term.

  1. From within your D2L course, select People > Collaborate.
  2. Click Create Session.
  3. Give the session a descriptive title (e.g. Group 1 Virtual Room).
  4. Set start and end dates/times for the room to be available. If the room should be available for use throughout the term, select the No end (open session) option.
  5. Click Session Settings to expand the session settings options.
  6. Change the default attendee role to Moderator. This allows students to record the sessions if they want.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Repeat steps 2-7 to create a Session for each student group.

Student Instructions to Record a Collaborate Session

Note: Only one participant needs to start and end the recording for each session.

  1. From within your D2L course, select People > Collaborate.
  2. Click the appropriate group space from the list of available sessions.
  3. Click Join Session.
  4. Once the Session has begun, click the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines) in the upper left corner.
  5. Click Start Recording.
  6. To end recording, click the hamburger menu and click Stop Recording.

Access Recorded Collaborate Sessions

  1. From within your D2L course, select People > Collaborate.
  2. Click the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines) in the upper left corner.
  3. Click Recordings.
  4. Find the recording you wish to view.

This article was last updated on Nov 12, 2020 @ 4:04 pm.